So, after my whole thing about not having any money and feeling so inadequate, etc. I got a check in the mail from State tax returns for $1,000. Woo hoo. Ok, so $1K is not really that much money, but it cna certainly re-start my savings account, which I emptied for wedding costs. I am feeling much happier now, specially because I have a WaMu savings account with a wonderfully high 4% APY my little state tax return will earn me about $40. That makes me smile….ooohh…I could get a new sweater dress just with my interest. I hope WaMu doens’t go under with the stock market crisis because I LOVE their services.

I was blog surfing earlier today and ran across Simple Mom . I’m not one to read the Mommy Blogs, because, well, I’m not a mom and I think most of the stuff they talk about is pretty boring. However, I did go from being a single woman in a one bedroom apartment to a married woman with a husband and a teenage sister to care for and a big house to manage in under 6 months. Needless to say, I’m suddenly in unfamiliar territory.

I’ve always been a big fan of to do lists and organizational tools. Simple Mom teaches one how to create a Home Management Notebook . I think this is a great read, specially for someone like me, who out of nowhere has a household to take care of.

At the same time, I’m hooked on My Dollar Plan and using a lot of her advise to begin creating a financial plan for my husband and I. Specifically because we both want to go back to school, my 19 year old sister lives with us and she has school to pay for also. My other sister is 11 years old and I see her college years fast approaching at a rate I can’t imagine trying to save for. On top of that, I want a new house. I would like for both of us to retire early. We want to travel to Colombia within the next 6 – 8 months.

With so much to plan for, I’m thinking of merging Simple Mom’s tools and Dollar Plan’s ideas to create a Life Management Notebook. A place where I can create a financial plan both short and long term for my mixed up family. I can create a personal plan to go back to school. And I can manage this big house I’m in and the household needs.  I definitely believe my household needs a cleaning weekly/monthly plan. Another awesome idea from Simple Mom is using Google Calendar to plan a monthly menu. Thank you, and I’m on it. I think that if I plan the menus ahead of time, I’ll shop better at the grocery store and be able to save money too.

Ok, that’s all for now, I’ll update as I start creating out Life Management Notebook

